Thursday, December 2, 2021

Latest Posts

Around 5000 polling personnel involved to make sure Assam bye-election in a free, fair and safe manner

- Advertisement -

As per reports by Time8, all arrangements are in place for a peaceful bye-election to the Assam Legislative Assembly in the year 2021.

The electoral apparatus has finished all preparations for the next bye-election to be held in a free, fair, and secure way.

The Election Commission of India has already appointed General, Police, and Expenditure Observers to keep a close eye on law and order, expenditure, and other issues.

Furthermore, under SVEEP, an awareness campaign is being conducted to encourage residents to vote and to carefully follow COVID protocol in polling places.

Polling personnel

A total of 5,410 polling staff will be deployed in this Assembly Bye-Election – 2021, along with 1, 869 Ballot Units (BUs), 1, 844 Control Units (CUs), and 1, 861 VVPATs.

As part of a huge endeavour to ensure free and fair elections, the CEO of Assam has planned for live monitoring and webcasting of poll day procedures in accordance with the ECI’s directive.

Every one of the 1,176 polling locations will be webcast. 285 are in the 28-Gossaigaon constituency, 213 in 41-Bhabanipur, 322 in 58-Tamulpur, 183 in 101-Mariani, and 173 in 107-Thowra.

The Election Commission of India, the Chief Electoral Officer, and the District Election Officers would be able to watch the polling process live on the polling day.

On the other hand, half-sections of the Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) are stationed at each polling site for security purposes, ensuring a favourable environment for the election’s smooth conduct.

COVID-19 safety protocols

In light of the COVID-19 epidemic, ECI has taken every care to guarantee that all polling stations properly adhere to COVID-19 safety measures for the protection of voters and election workers.

One day before the election, each polling station will be cleansed, and thermal scanners, hand sanitizers, and face masks will be available at the polling stations.

General electors

It should be noted that the polling constituencies have a total of 7, 96,456 general electors.

There are 4, 03,374 males, 3, 93,078 females, and 4 transgender people among them. In addition to these, there are 3,165 service voters. There are 8, 864 electors above the age of 80 and 4, 998 people with disabilities.


Tamulpur LAC, with 2, 17,432 electors, is the constituency with the most electors out of the five seats.

Thowra LAC, with 1, 15,971 electors, is the constituency with the smallest number of electors.

There are a total of 31 candidates running for election, with eight in each of the LACs of Gossaigaon and Bhabanipur, six in Tamulpur, four in Mariani, and five in Thowra.

Furthermore, to guarantee an inclusive election, the postal ballot option is offered to senior individuals over the age of 80, PwDs, COVID-19 suspects or impacted persons, as well as people working in critical services.

At all polling locations, Assured Minimum Facilities (AMF) such as drinking water, a waiting shed, a bathroom, enough lighting, and wheelchairs for PwD voters are provided.

At polling sites, arrangements such as transportation for the elderly and volunteer aid to PwDs and older persons are made.

It should be noted that a smartphone app called Divyaang Sarathi Nirvachan has been developed for PwD voters to make it easier to choose transportation by registering online.


Latest Posts


Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.