Assam extends category of “disturbed area” for another 6 months

For the next six months, Assam’s administration has proclaimed the entire state a “Disturbed Area“. Under the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, Assam’s “disturbed area” classification has been extended for another six months, starting August 28. (AFSPA).

For six months, starting on August 28, 2021 (unless withdrawn before), “the government has proclaimed the state of Assam to be a “Disturbed Area” by Section 3 of the Armed Force (Special Powers) Act, 1958.”

AFSPA extended every six months; enacted first in 1990

disturbed area

To date, AFSPA has been extended every six months after being reviewed by the state administration in Assam from November 1990.

Due to the intense insurgency activities that murdered many people in Assam, AFSPA was enacted in 1990. 

Kidnapping is illegal in Assam, Nagaland, Manipur (save in the Imphal Municipal Council Area), Arunachal Pradesh’s Changlang, Longding, and Tirap districts, as well as regions under the jurisdiction of the eight police stations in districts bordering Assam.

DNLA militants suspected in killing five people in Assam’s Dima Hasao

In recent years, Assam has witnessed a considerable number of militant organizations cross into the state. Last year, the government reached an agreement with Bodo insurgent groups. The accord was recently signed with Karbi extremist groups.

A truce has been unilaterally established by the militant group United Liberation Front of Asom Independent (Ulfa-I). Due to the peace efforts of Assam’s chief minister, the militia organization the Dimasa National Liberation Army (DNLA) has declared a unilateral six-month truce. 

Last month, suspected DNLA militants in Assam’s Dima Hasao killed five people and injured one. 

Assam’s government official comments on certain security forces in Assam

ET was told by a top government official in Assam who did not want to be identified that there is a component of the security forces in Assam involved in counter-insurgency operations that favors AFSPA in the entire state.

AFSPA is in effect in Manipur, except Imphal’s seven assembly constituencies. Areas under the AFSPA in Arunachal Pradesh have been halved, with only eight police stations remaining in addition to the districts of Tirap, Changlang, and Longding.

While the AFSPA has been repealed in Tripura and Meghalaya, there is a growing movement in Nagaland to repeal the law.

Also Read: Assam Cricket Association introduces infrastructure development to encourage sports activities


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here